Stream of Consciousness

Books … Stream of Consciousness Saturday

Book… #SoCS
In my humble opinion, one of the best things ever invented are books. Books has gone through a lot of evolution. There were once plain sheets and people wrote on them with ink or pencils, later typewriters came and then computers. All these have helped information to kept from generation to generation.

Books are very important to me and I can’t imagine my life without them. The world will be so boring. There are times when I can’t read ebooks on my phone, I fall back on paper backs. How do some people live day to day without reading? How do they survive? How do they process their thoughts?

I’ve been a book lover for as long as I can remember. Books have it’s positive and negative effects. When the wrong things are written down, it can influence the person life in a terrible way. When right things are written, it also influences the readers life positively.

Literature has power. When you read Shakespeare Merchant of Venice you are transported to Venice, the Jews life, the Christian life and the dichotomy between them. The words become your words long after you’ve closed the book. Here lies the power of literature. Many times, I find myself using the phrase “As you like it.”

Most religions in the world today have a book that guides the believers in the religion. I am a Christian and we read a book called Bible. I have read and studied and had words from it preached to me, to a very large extent that the words readily comes to my heart at different times in my daily life.

No wonder it is said, the pen is mightier than the sword. It definitely is.

Until next time,

image

Adiós!

© Deborah Glover, 2016
*****
The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “book.” Use any meaning of the word as your theme, or simply mention the word “book” in your post. Enjoy!

Stream of Consciousness brought to you by Linda G. Hill

image

3 thoughts on “Books … Stream of Consciousness Saturday”

  1. Such a lovely description you have written! Books are perhaps the most wonderful things in the world. I also once wrote in my blog that books help me go on virtual vacations.I was delighted to see you saying “Merchant of Venice” makes one go to “Venice”! I love this thing about the books! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment