Yet another soul

In the dark night

As I lie in bed

I hear the sound of the gun

Another soul has been taken away

Another life has left our earth.

©Booky Glover, 2017

*****

When I served in the Eastern Nigeria, I experienced this tradition. Once we hear the sound of the gun we know that someone is dead. Well, I didn’t have family members there but I know that such person has people who will mourn for his departure.

***

The young die

The old alike

Reminding us how frail we are

We are mortals

And we have to go

Somehow

Someday

My heart weeps for you dear brother

I knew you for a brief while

But you were happy going with yourself and the world

Farewell Dan Efa

Farewell dear friend

Rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

