Nothing

Slur

Am I better off dead

Am I better off a quitter

The say I’m better off now

Then I ever was with her

As they take me to my local

Down the street

I’m smiling but I’m dying

Trying not to drag my feet

They say a few drinks, will help me to forget her

But after one too many, I know that I’ll never

Only they can see where this is gonna end

They all think I’m crazy but to me it’s perfect sense

And all my mates are trying to calm me

Cos I’m shouting your name all over the towntown

I’m swearing if I go there now

I can change her mind and turn it all around

I know that I’m drunk but I’ll say the words

If she’ll listen this time even though their slurred

I dialed her number and confessed to her

“I’m still in love” but all I heard was nothing.

*****


I love this song by The Script. If you haven’t heard it, I think you should download and listen to it. The title is “Nothing”.

It’s funny how we feel a strong drink will help fix our momentary problems, give us a boost of confidence to speak to someone or trying to drown our feelings. I have learned that drinking alcohol may seem like a fix but it’s always temporary. Whatever it was you were running from comes back to bite you and you sink deeper.

We should face our problems and stop hiding behind a bottle.

I remain your true friend on this space,

Until next time,

Blessings!

2 thoughts on “Nothing

Leave a Reply

