Fifty Shades of Me…Poetry

​I am soft outside

I am hard inside

I love hard

I leave fast

I burn

I soothe

I am to the extreme

The extreme of both sides

Don’t ask me to change

Asking won’t change me

Don’t be deceived by the looks

I am fifty shades of myself.

© Deborah Glover, 2016

You have rough edges , we all do

they form squiggly lines that make you a fine art,

the things you do are the paintings on you,

they make you a master piece that catches our hearts.


Maybe you are a mirror of all the things I do

that when I smile, it is you,

that when I frown, you do too,

when I cry, you cry with me,

when you’re happy, I am too.

the things friends do.


Your soft is better than silk,

your hard must be diamond,

to love is hard,

to leave is not the end,

your burning and soothing is like spirit on my wound,

and the fifty shades of you are Jekylls and Hydes.

©Adedayo Beckley, 2016

*****

I wrote this on Facebook last year and a friend sent me a reply. I thought I should share with you all.

This is Deborah Glover.

This is Adedayo Beckley.

Until next time,

Blessings!

4 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Me…Poetry

Leave a Reply

