Writer Block : My first challenge in the new year.

image

As the new year came in with it’s pomp and gaiety. Fireworks, smiles on faces, partying and even people getting drunk. I found myself experiencing this writers’ bane. I love reading and writing has been a part of me but I couldn’t for the life of me understand it. Writer block.

I have written three poems and they didn’t cut it. So I saved them on my simple notepad as a reminder of my failed attempts to write.

I decided to follow two people whose writings impressed me while we were at the last Commons Blogging University. #Rosemawrites and #Jacqueline.

These two were the concerned writers I was fortunate to meet. They read almost everyone work. Every where I turn to they were commenting, giving thumbs up and encouragement. I was new here and I was very confused. I did my assignments faithfully and tagged blogging U but that was how far I went and all I did.

I had no idea how to post my link on the commons general page. I was so lost. I had to settle for reading the few work I found captivating and ditched the rest. My email box was filled with them and at a point I stopped checking them.

Everyone was writing. Everyone wanted his/her work checked out. It was very selfish. *shrugs* We are writers, we thrive on such things.

Jacqueline reblog Kat Music Monday #14 and I thought “why not give it a try?” It was a push for me in the right direction.

Personally, I am currently facing a transition. I am at a point where love and marriage sounds scary.

I really don’t think it is normal. There should be a word for such condition. The fear of falling in love and getting married.

Whatever the case maybe, I feel positive and I know I’ll be fine.

God’s blessings!

It’s evening here in the city of Lagos, Nigeria.

So

Good evening.

2 thoughts on “Writer Block : My first challenge in the new year.

  1. Temitoria says:

    My pen is practically itching and my thumbs are anxious but my mind has so much to process and so much to express… I’m you wrote about your block because you just wrote something. Keep it up! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

