Coded meanings

Fake laughter shows on the teeth
As snake bares it’s fangs
Go away, I hear
When they say come again.
The beady cold eyes that stare at me
Say
‘Leave and never come back here’

One warm embrace
And I feel at home
Yet the set square jaw tells me
I did something wrong
Why won’t you ever tell me
How you feel
Why must you hide?

Maybe you’ll start meaning what you say
Maybe you never will
But I’ll learn to live with you
I’ll learn to read your unspoken words
And ignore the spoken
I’ll learn to decode your coded meanings
Lying fallow
Waiting for me to be unravel.

Leave a Reply

